Memoir | Environment | Photography

The Batanghari River Story: The Unusual Discovery

A river cruise with Pak Joko

Cindy Roaming
3 min readJan 27, 2024

--

Photo by Author

Tejo and I finally arrived at the meeting spot where we had agreed upon with Pak Joko.

We waved to Pak Joko, expressing our readiness for the cruise.

Pak Joko stood and skillfully paddled towards the shore. Upon arrival, he offered his hand to help me get into the long-tail boat, which was built with a couple of planks for seating.

Feeling the gentle sway, I adjusted to find my balance and settled onto the planks.

Although it was Tejo’s first time, he seemed not worried; it was as if he had done it many times before.

The Batanghari River, while appearing calm on the surface, had a strong undercurrent.

Stories of drownings in these waters had been a part of my childhood, causing some anxiety every time I took the boat ride.

However, my trust in Pak Joko, an experienced navigator of these waters, helped ease my concerns.

As the engine roared to life, we started to explore the river.

--

--

Cindy Roaming

I write about my travel story, foods, and culture. Currently in Mexico City🇲🇽