Culture | Religion | Indonesia

Ramadan Tradition

Where communities make this holy month await and special.

Cindy Roaming
2 min readMar 16, 2024

--

Photo by Author

There’s a tradition that I’ve really missed since moving to Mexico City. The thing that I can’t feel here — the Ramadan vibe.

Yes, due to the largest Muslim majority in Indonesia, the atmosphere was palpable as people festively celebrated this holy month.

The Unique Alarm

The residents, especially the young people, wandered around the neighborhood, banging empty plastic drums and shouting “Sahur Sahur Sahur” in tones. It sounded like a symphony, ensuring people awaken for their early meal. They would sometimes shout it from a mosque’s speaker.

Firecrackers

I’m not sure if this is still happening. If I am not mistaken, it is now prohibited cause of noise and danger.

However, I remember when I was a kid, after Suhoor, my brothers and I went outside to play with firecrackers along with the other kids.

--

--

Cindy Roaming

I write about my travel story, foods, and culture. Currently in Mexico City🇲🇽